COVID-19 Update - The ABPN has been actively monitoring the events and circumstances surrounding the spread of COVID-19…

John B. Bodensteiner, MD

Posted on January 14th, 2020 by Cathy Szmurlo

Dr. Bodensteiner is retired from active practice at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. He is on the Executive Committee of the Southern Pediatric Neurology Society, is the Founding Editor of the Seminars in Pediatric Neurology and now serves on the editorial board and is the editor of the Case Studies Issues of the SPNS. Dr. Bodensteiner is also a Senior Associate Editor of the Journal of Child Neurology. He previously served on the Milestones Committee for the ACGME. Previously, he was the William Pilcher Chair and Chief of Pediatric Neurology at Barrow Neurological Institute, St. Joseph’s Children’s Health Center in Phoenix, AZ and Professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Neurology at the University of Arizona from 2001 to 2011. Dr. Bodensteiner was the President of the Child Neurology Society from 2007 to 2009. He received the Hower Award from the Child Neurology Society in 2013 and served as a member of the MOC committee for the society from 2011 to 2013. As an ABPN Director, Dr. Bodensteiner serves on the executive Committee as Board Secretary, on the Neurology Council and as Chair of the Committee on Credentials – Neurology, the Continuing Certification Subspecialty Article Assessment Committee – Neurodevelopmental Disabilities and the Neurodevelopmental Disabilities Steering Committee. He is also Chair of the Continuing Certification Product Review Subcommittee and the Certification Examination and Continuing Certification Combined -Clinical Child Neurology Subcommittee. He is Vice Chair of the Certification Examination and Continuing Certification Combined Committee-Neurology. In addition, Dr. Bodensteiner serves as a member of the Nominations for Officers, Finance, Investment, Core Competencies, Research and Development, and the Continuing Certification committees and as a liaison to CNS and PCN. He also serves on the Task Force on Pool Question Reclassification-Neurology/Child Neurology.