COVID-19 Update - The ABPN has been actively monitoring the events and circumstances surrounding the spread of COVID-19…

Faculty Innovation in Education Award

The ABPN Faculty Innovation in Education Award is intended to support the development of innovative education and/or evaluation projects that promote effective residency/fellowship training or lifelong learning of practicing psychiatrists and neurologists. Preference will be given to projects that have the potential for use in more than one site and to applicants who are at a junior or mid-faculty level.

Each year, up to two psychiatry and two neurology fellows will be selected.  The duration of the projects will normally be for two years with a maximum amount of funding of $50,000 per year or $100,000 total.  This amount is intended to cover salary, fringe benefits, and other costs.  No indirect costs will be covered.

The submission deadline for 2023-2024 awards is August 15, 2022.

Applicants must:

  • be certified by the ABPN
  • participate in the ABPN’s continuing certification (maintenance of certification) program
  • hold an unrestricted license to practice medicine in a state, commonwealth, territory, or possession of the United States
  • comply with the ABPN’s conflict of interest policies and procedures
  • hold a faculty appointment in a psychiatry or neurology department (or its equivalent) in a U.S. LCME-accredited medical school

Any projects relevant to the education and/or assessment of psychiatrists and neurologists will be considered, although the ABPN is particularly interested in the following areas:

  • Innovative approaches to train program directors to implement clinical skills evaluations
  • Innovative approaches to faculty development for conducting clinical skills evaluations
  • Innovative approaches to the development and assessment of professional competence
  • Strategies to promote lifelong learning
  • Innovative curricula for continuing certification (maintenance of certification), including teaching about MOC in residency
  • Strategies to promote public education about and input into Board certification
  • Strategies to promote physician resilience and to prevent burnout

Faculty Innovation in Education Award Information

For additional information contact Dorthea Juul, PhD.